Skip to content

Being Social

October 10, 2010

I’m a pretty outgoing and social person.  When I published my first book waaaaay back in 1993, I didn’t realize there was a social part to writing a book.  Being an author seemed quite the solitary profession and I really didn’t have that many connections to my readers.  Nonetheless, I rented a post office box and it was lovely to get letters forwarded to me from my publisher.  They would trickle in slowly, but I saved all of them.

Fast forward nearly twenty years and I’m a bit overwhelmed with the social piece of being an author today.  I not only have to write a book, but I also have to figure out how to successfully use Twitter, Facebook, a website, my own blog, my publisher’s blog and my publisher’s online community.  Yikes!!!  Not to mention, I have to do all this and still manage a teen, a toddler, a neurotic dog and a household.

Anyway, I hope you’ll be patient with me as I figure all this out.  I feel like I’m slowly but steadily getting the hang of everything.  I apologize for not updating my blog for a while.  But I really do have a good excuse.  I was working hard finishing up No One To Trust (Book 2 in my Lexi Carmichael cyber-sleuthing series).  However, now that the book is finished (hurrah!!) and in the capable hands of my editor, it means I’m free to once again focus on being social.

I would love it if you would tell me which of the social networks you use the most and which ones you think would be the most important for me to keep up.  I’d really appreciate the guidance!

On my nightstand (or what I’m currently reading): Sizzle by Julie Garwood

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. William permalink

    Julie…Keep it up! You’re doing a great job. In my opinion, you should keep using Facebook.

  2. Thanks for the feedback, William! I enjoy Facebook, so that should be the easy part! 🙂

Leave a Reply

